The Board of Management

2 David Postlethwaite, Deputy Chair

David Postlethwaite, Chair


Katie Teasdale, Independent

Stephen Greenwood, Deputy Chair

Helen Bradbury, Tenant Director

Cllr Ged Cooney, Council Nominee

Cllr Ged Cooney, Council Nominee

Jane Atherton, Independent

Jordan Messer, Independent

Lavinia Ferguson ,  Independent

Joyce Bowerman, Council Nominee

David McNally, Council Nominee

Cllr David McNally, Council Nominee

Sheila Tolley,           Independent

David Postlethwaite, Chair.  David was born in Ashton and continues to live here. A former Borough Treasurer of Tameside MBC, he retired in 2007 to spend more time with his bike. He wants to see Ashton Pioneer Homes continue to provide good quality housing efficiently at affordable rents.

Cllr Joyce Bowerman, Deputy Chair.   Joyce is a Tameside Councillor and currently Chair of the Ashton District Assembly.  She has been a community volunteer for over 20 years, establishing and running a wide variety of community groups and projects.  She is a Trustee of St. Peter’s Partnerships and Chair of Ashton West End Residents Association and St Peter’s Community Gathering.  Joyce is a communications specialist, having worked for BT, Greater Manchester Ambulance Service and GM Police in a career stretching over thirty years.  She has lived in the St.Peter’s Ward of Ashton all her life and is passionate about improving the opportunities for local residents and caring for the environment.

Cllr Ged Cooney,  Council Nominee.  Ged has been a Tameside Councillor since 1990. As Cabinet Deputy for Learning and Achievement, he managed the £300m new schools building programme for Tameside. He is involved with crime prevention, home watch meetings, tenant/resident gatherings and is a member of the Crime and Disorder Sub-Committee, he attends Police & Communities Together (PACT) meetings.  He is a member of AGMA Housing and Planning Commission which covers all housing issues across Greater Manchester and is very experienced in the provision of social housing through his former role as Chair of the Board at New Charter Housing Trust. He is very interested in the ongoing regeneration of Ashton-under-Lyne.

Stephen Greenwood, Independent.  Stephen has been working in the housing sector for over 5 years as a Neighbourhood Manager.  He has managed an array of front line housing services teams specialising in performance management.  He joined Board in 2012 and is committed to increasing customer satisfaction and creating communities where people wish to live and work.

Cllr David McNally, Council Nominee.  I have been a Tameside Councillor since 2011 and act as Chair of the Speaker Panel for Liquor Licensing & Licensing.  I attend all meetings of the Ashton-under-Lyne District Assembly and the St. Peters Community Gathering.  I am also a member of St. Peter’s Partnerships and am Chair of the Homewatch scheme and a ‘Friend of Oxford Park’. I am committed to making the local area a better place to live.

Sheila Tolley, Independent.  Sheila has worked in the field of Housing and Regeneration for over 25 years.  She has held significant senior positions on several of the UK’s most challenging regeneration programmes, including Hulme City Challenge and Salford Single Regeneration Budget.  Sheila has also held senior positions at both the Audit Commission and the Housing corporation.  She has experience as a Government Neighbourhood Renewal advisor and has higher degrees in Applied Social Research and Overseas Development.

Jane Atherton, Independent. Jane has worked in the Housing sector for over 25 years. She has held positions in a range of housing management roles before moving into Human Resources and Organisational Development in 1999. She is currently Director of People and Risk at New Charter Group heading up Group Legal Services, Risk Management and Governance, HR, OD and Payroll and Facilities Management. Jane is a Chartered Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development.

Helen Bradbury, Tenant Director. Helen has been a tenant at APH since 2003, and is an active resident within the community, being one of the first members of the Tenant Scrutiny Panel and going on to become Chair. Her work in scrutinising services at APH led to many improvements which have been of great benefit to the residents, the business and the local community. With the experience gained on the Panel, Helen joined the Board in 2014, where she continues to represent the local community as a Tenant Director.